How to get Laos visa on arrival

You can easily get Laos visa on arrival in most border crossings and all Lao International airports.

Here are simple steps to help you get Laos visa on arrival.

1. Filling up Application form for arrival visa. You can get the form on your arrival or if you want to save waiting time then you can download the form and fill it before your arrival time, to download the Lao Application form for arrival visa click picture below.

  1. You need 2 passport size photos.
    3. Valid passport.
    4. You need to pay fee of about USD 20-45 (Remark: the fee is varied, depending on your nationality)There are 4 Airports in Laos that you can obtain Lao visa on arrival.

    1.    Wattay International Airport in Vientiane Capital.
    2.    Luang Prabang International Airport in Luang Prabang Province.
    3.    Pakse International Airport in Pakse.
    4.    Savannakhet International Airport in Savannakhet Province.

Border check points


China – Laos

  1. Mohan(China) – Boten (Luang Namtha Province)
  2. Mohan(Yunnan, China) – Botene(Luang Namtha Province)
  3. Xiangkok riverport on Mekong River in Luang Namtha Province ,no visa on arrival


Thailand – Laos

  1. Xiangkong (Thailand)- Houaixay (Bokeo Province)
  2. Nongkhai (Thailand) – Friendship Bridge (Vientiane Capital, Laos)
  3. Thailand – Xayabouly Province (Nam Heuang Friendship Bridge)
  4. Nakhon Phanom (Thailand)- Thakhaek (Khammouane Province)
  5. Moukdahan(Thailand)- Friendship Bridge II (Savannakhet Province)
  6. Chong Mek (Thailand)- Vang Tao (Champasak Province)
  7. Chiangkhong (Chiang Rai, Thailand) – Houixay (Bokeo Province, Laos)
  8. Nakaxeng(Loei, Thailand) – Kaenthao(Sayabouly Province, Laos)
  9. Bungkan (Thailand)- Pakxan(Bolikhamxay Province, Laos) no visa on arrival.
  10. Nakorn Phanom(Nakorn Phanom, Thailand) – Thakhaek(Khammouane Province, Laos)
  11. Chongmek (Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand)- Vangtao( Champasack Province, Laos)


Vietnam – Laos

  1. Nam Kanh (Vietnam) – Nong Haet (Xieng Khouang Province)
  2. Cau Treo (Vietnam) – Nam Phao (Bolikhamxay)
  3. Lao Bao(Vietnam) – Dene Savanh (Savannakhet Province)
  4. Taichang (Laichau, Vietnam)- Sobhoun( Phongsaly Province, Laos) no visa on arrival
  5. Nameo(Thanh Hoa, Vietnam) – Banleui(Huaphanh Province, Laos)
  6. Namkan (NgeAn, Vietnam)- Namkan (Xieng Khouang Province, Laos)
  7. Napao (Quangbinh, Vietnam) – Chalo (Khammouane Province, Laos) no visa on arrival
  8. Laobao(Quang tri, Vietnam) – Dansavanh (Savannakhet Province, Laos)


Cambodia – Laos

1. Dong Calor(Cambodia) – Veun Kham (Champasak Province, Laos)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • English
  • Français
  • Laos
  • Thailand